The Authors Punk, New Wave, Indie Rock

Singer/guitarist Justin Prater writes lyrics with social a conscious and a wounded heart, while guitarist/keyboardist Ben Meza weaves a sonic tapestry of reverb drenched guitars and haunting keys. With a mix of danceable beats supplied by drummer Angela Stroud and bass heavy melodies by Jon Haben, The Authors have created a sound that they can call their own.

While The Authors eponymous 2009 debut “EP” was born in a sweaty garage, the band’s debut release “Get Haunted” found its home in the Elmwood Recording Studio located in Dallas, TX. While staying focused on it’s tight, beat driven backbone, the band set out to capture the feel of the live performance, enlisting the expertise of Grammy Award winning producer/engineer Stuart Sikes (Cat Power, The Walkmen, White Stripes, Lorretta Lynn) at his Elmwood Recordings studio in Dallas, TX. Get Haunted fuses new wave with a raw garage rock sound, tempting disco beats, while fleshing out new melodies at every turn.

Clocking in at just over 30 min, Get Haunted sets a furious pace of raucous beats and hooks, taking you from the fuzzed out surf garage opening track “Timebomb” through 12 garage-y, dance inducing tracks that end up in the lush, dreamy comforts of closing number “The Night”.

Now Playing

Select a song to preview

Starred Tracks

Use the star icon to keep tracks here for this session or Log In first to save them as long as you want.